DETECTIVES

The Wood County Sheriff’s Office Detective Bureau consists of six Detectives who handle nearly one thousand investigations per year.   The Detective Bureau investigates criminal activity against Persons and Property as well as conduct Narcotic and Human Trafficking Enforcement Investigations.  The Detective Bureau conducts investigations and prepares cases for successful prosecutions by conducting thorough interviews, recovering evidence of criminal activity, following up on tips/leads from sources.  The Detective Bureau collaborates with and assists other Local, State and Federal agencies in pursuit of the mission of the Sheriff’s Office.

Detective Lieutenant Rod Smith joined the Wood County Sheriff’s Office in 1998 and was appointed to the Detective Division in 2010.

Detective Sergeant Joe Miller joined the Wood County Sheriff’s Office in 1998 and was appointed to the Detective Division in 2013.

Detective Sergeant Ginnie Barta joined the Wood County Sheriff’s Office in 1998 and was appointed to the Detective Division in 2012.

Detective Sergeant Ryan Richards joined the Wood County Sheriff’s Office in 2012 and was appointed to the Detective Division in 2016.

Detective Sergeant Destinie Moore joined the Wood County Sheriff’s Office in 2016 and was appointed to the Detective Division in 2017.

Detective Sergeant Patrick Mormile joined the Wood County Sheriff’s Office in 2006 and was appointed to the Detective Division in 2020.

Contact Information:

Detective Lieutenant Rod Smith
Office: (419) 354-9682
Email: rlsmith@woodcountyohio.gov

Detective Sergeant Joe Miller
Office: (419) 354-9267
Email: jmiller@woodcountyohio.gov

Detective Sergeant Ginnie Barta
Office (419) 354-9300
Email: gbarta@woodcountyohio.gov

Detective Sergeant Ryan Richards
Office (419) 354-9693
Email: rrichards@woodcountyohio.gov

Detective Sergeant Destinie Moore
Office (419) 354-9089
Email: dmoore@woodcountyohio.gov

Detective Sergeant Patrick Mormile
Office (419) 354-9623
Email: pmormile@woodcountyohio.gov

Skip to content